Highway 1, California

I left San Francisco this morning intending to head to Tomales Bay to take photographs, eat oysters, and maybe hike, but I got sidetracked after seeing a sign for the Point Reyes Lighthouse, which took me on a 22 mile detour.  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for lighthouses.

I clearly took the least efficient route to get to Tomales (err, Point Reyes).  I drove on Highway 1, which has breathtaking views.  (Pay attention to the road though, or you’ll end up driving off a cliff.)  The winding highway takes you through fragrant eucalyptus trees, past Stinson Beach, and through Bolinas Lagoon Nature Preserve where if you’re lucky, you’ll see seals, hawks, crows, and other birds I can’t name.  I also saw a dead skunk on the road.  And then I smelled him for some time thereafter.

The 22 mile drive to the Lighthouse was quite beautiful and I’ve never seen so many happy cows.  Point Reyes Lighthouse and cow photos are forthcoming.

© Sarah Milstein 2014

Leave a Reply

