Porto Vecchio, Corsica

We spent the bulk of our time exploring (okay fine, laying out on) various beaches in Porto Vecchio.  Seeing as the beaches are all blurring together for me, and I think Janine summed them up awesomely (yes, that’s a word) on her blog, I think you should check out her posts: here, here, and here.  But I will leave you with some photographs, obviously.

Plage de Tamaricciu and Plage d’Asciaghju.  These are connected and have several beach bars/restaurants connecting the two.  I ordered a Heineken at one and received the smallest beer I’ve ever seen.

Golfe de Santa Giulia.  There was a lot of woodsy debris on the sand, leaving a small strip for the beach.  However, the water was very clear and warm.

Cala Rossa.  This was our favorite beach–we came here twice.  For one, the beach itself has more room to spread out.  Also, the water gets deep-ish relatively quickly so you can swim and there are less naked toddlers running around.  This could be a pro or a con depending on whether you have kids.

The restaurant 37.2, which is on the beach, was great–good food and amazing location.  Also, the beer is a normal size.  However, I got chased down the beach for stealing a Magnum only to explain that I paid for it.  Word to the wise, if I were to steal your ice cream, I probably would not do it in a red hat.  Just sayin’.

© Sarah Milstein 2013

Leave a Reply

