Giverny

Prior to quitting my job I was told that I must go to Giverny, home to Claude Monet’s famous water lilies.  Fine, fine.  What’s the big deal?  Well, now I’m going to be a nagging voice telling you to go to Giverny.  Well, at least my mom.  Mom, you definitely need to go here for a while.

I did not inherit her green thumb, just her bad eyes.  Which I guess makes me kind of like Monet.  (Apparently I’m not the only one who thinks his poor eyesight was the “key to [his] blurry style.”)

From Paris, you take a 45 minute train ride to Vernon.

Most people then take a taxi or bus to Giverny, which is only 5 kilometers or so away.  We walked.  First, you have to find your way through the town and cross the Seine.

Then head another 4 kilometers East.  Hopefully you will see some grapes and horses and cows along the way.

Then continue on and you will come to Claude Monet’s grave (which is up a hill).  I’ve never seen so many butterflies as there were fluttering around his grave.

Then keep walking and you will get to Monet’s “maison et jardin.”  Personally, I’m starting to wonder why he is so acclaimed for his paintings, and not his green thumb.

Also, I think I found the world’s bee population.  It has congregated here.

There were also some really weird looking chickens, like this one.

Finally, I took some unfocused photographs of the water lillies–and sure enough, I created a Monet!  Here are the focused ones.

Make sure you don’t miss the last train back to Paris.  Although there are plenty of adorable bed and breakfasts I wouldn’t mind staying at!

© Sarah Milstein 2013

Leave a Reply

