Marché aux Puces de St-Ouen, Paris

What can you find at the largest flea market in the world?  Probably more on a Saturday than on a Monday.  A lot of the stalls were closed, but we still managed to weave our way through antique shops, sit in cool chairs, photograph lots of tchotchkes, try on ridiculous hats, and ogle vintage dresses.

I would recommend starting at Au Grenier de Lucie, Allée 1, in Marché Vernaison.  The shop owners spoke English, gave us a map of the flea market, and broke down where we needed to go.  They also have an impressive collection of vintage Chanel, YSL, and other designers I’m not cool enough to know.

We hit up Tombees du Camion after.  Most of the following photographs were taken there.

You can also buy this creepy dentist chair with a flat mannequin cut-out.  (I forget which store this was.)

We ate lunch at Ma Cocotte, which I loved.  I thought it had a great atmosphere–although it felt more like it was in Napa, than Paris.  I ordered haricots verts en salade et pignons, and was surprised to find pine nuts instead of pigeon.  But it worked out, my friend and I split the green beans and the poulet fermier de challans à la broche pour moi tout seul; together it was the perfect lunch.  I think the ratings on Trip Adviser are a bit harsh.

The upstairs, which opens at night, looked very nice.

To get to the flea market, we followed these directions, which I’d recommend.

© Sarah Milstein 2013

2 responses

Leave a Reply

