Food Coma, Partie 2

I know, I haven’t been writing about restaurants or bars much.  But don’t worry, I’m still eating and drinking.  (Not that you were concerned.)  I don’t love taking out a giant camera at a restaurant, only to find it’s too dark for my camera to focus, and then standing there awkwardly like a tourist, so I’m giving you a small sampling of places I liked.

Le Taxi Jaune.  This restaurant in Le Marais is amazing, but pricey.  I actually went because it was written up for its “[s]pectacular mussels,” which were unfortunately not on the menu.  However, my friends and I were not disappointed.  After my friend talked us into getting a last-minute reservation (in French), we sat at the last table in the house.  The menu is seasonal–the chef only cooks meats and vegetables in their prime.  My vegan friends would not approve, so I will spare you the details.  However, I think between my friends and I, we counted five different animals that contributed to our meal (some were in the form of cheese).  The chef came to each table and spoke with the guests.  My only complaint was that I heard a lot of English being spoken, but we ordered in French.

L’Atelier Guy Martin Cooking Class.  Okay, so I’m not sure if it was false advertising, or my ignorance of French (I will go with the latter), but I expected my class to be taught by Guy Martin.  I suppose the price (only 60 Euros) should have been my first clue–a spot at his 2 star Michelin rated restaurant can easily run you over 300 Euros a person.  However, I had a great time, and we actually made things I would make again: Carrot gazpacho, duck, and a frozen berry soufflé.

L’As du Fallafel.  Who hasn’t written up L’As du?  (Besides Parisbymouth, see reviews here, here, here, and here.  There are probably more, but I’ll let you scour the Internet for them.)  The first time I went, I walked by, told the guy standing outside I didn’t want any, only to make a full circle around the neighborhood, look at an article on the best falafel in Paris, and find myself standing in front of the very same guy.  Awkward, yes.  However, we laughed and then he got me a chair.  That falafel was delicious.  The eggplant made it–it was hot and super flavorful.  I went back again and it was good, but not as good the first time.  I still finished it though.  Warning: Be prepared to get messy.

Amorino.  This probably isn’t the best ice cream in Paris, but you can find an Amorino conveniently located next to Place des Vosges (and every other tourist attraction in the city).  What’s nicer than ice cream on a hot day that’s slapped together to look like a flower?  I can’t really complain.

© Sarah Milstein 2013

Leave a Reply

