Paris Plage & DYNAMO

Paris Plage!  If you know me, you won’t be surprised that I have a bunch of questions.  Like where do they get all this sand?  How do they get it to Paris?  The Paris Plage website does not answer my questions, but I learned other useful things, like that I can rent a boat or borrow books.

I promise to not just be the creepy person on the bridge taking photos, I’ll go check it out soon enough.

The Dynamo exhibit at Le Grand Palais ends today.  I was fortunate to be able to go before it ended; however, I probably should have eaten first.  It was a dizzying experience with all the flashing lights and optical illusions.  I waited in line for 30 minutes to go into a room filled with thick blue mist.  I only lasted about 30 seconds before I thought I was going to have a panic attack.  It was totally disorienting and you can’t see anything besides the blue mist directly in front of you.  I stayed close to the walls.  I’m sure the people watching from the monitors outside the room thought I was insane.  Here are some photos I took at the exhibition.

Maybe making shadow puppets wasn’t the most mature approach, but it seemed like a good idea at the time.

Also, I was recently telling some friends that I thought it was stupid when people take photographs in museums.  Well, I just became one of those people.  C’est la vie.

© Sarah Milstein 2013

Leave a Reply

