Photography Classes, Partie 2

This week is flying by since I have a commercial photography class every morning, and a portrait class every afternoon.  The commercial class is, sorry to say, pretty boring/frustrating, but I think I have learned a lot and have a new appreciation for photographs of objects in magazines.  Shooting glass, metal, and porcelain are a nightmare.  Getting the camera perfectly parallel to the table, balancing all of the stands, blocking the right amount of light, creating the perfect amount of highlights — these are things that all take a lot of patience.  A quality I unfortunately do not have much of.

The portrait class was really fun and we learned some great techniques.  My favorite was light painting.  This was super easy (well, relatively speaking) and you can even do it at home.  If you want to know how, visit here.  I think my favorite part was that I donned a black cloak while “painting” so as not to get in the frame myself.  Here is one of my “paintings.”  I actually did this in my apartment just now with my iPhone, sitting on my floor, with my camera on the table.  It doesn’t get more ghetto than this!

Finally, you might remember that I mentioned a few weeks back that I was “styling food” on the set.  Here is one of the shots we did.

Photography and styling by Janine Murphy and Sarah Milstein.

More photos to come…

© Sarah Milstein 2013

Leave a Reply

