Paris, Semaine 5

My fifth week in Paris coincided with the start of my second month here, the commencement of my photography classes at Speos, the Fourth of July, my first meetup event, and most importantly, the sun shining brightly!  I actually had plans almost every night for a change, which was great.

Speos.  This week I took Introduction to Studio Photography at Speos.  By the end of the week, I was confident that I could set the equipment up without breaking anything (including my fingers).  As for taking a well-lit photo, I’m still working on that.  I’m not sure that the professor appreciated me eating on the set, but I claimed to be “styling” the food for our last object shoot.  But really, I was.  I was inspired by Irving Penn.  And really, you can’t get a good glimpse of the inside of a sandwich without taking a giant bite out of it.  Unfortunately, those photographs are not on my camera, but perhaps they will make an appearance here later.

Frenchie to Go.  I met the pastry chef of Frenchie to Go on the Fourth of July and she recommended the blueberry muffins, which are made with wild blueberries.  Perfect size, and pretty delic.  A good call, for sure.

A Belated Fourth of July BBQ.  This cake happened on Saturday, and it was delicious.

Pétanque-a-Donk.  I cannot take credit for the name; it was just the name of the meetup event I went to at Parc de la Villette, where we played pétanque.  I had no idea this gem existed.  There’s a carousel, swings, “horse drawn” bicycles (featured below), lots of picnic areas, a canal, restaurants, and drum roll s’il vous plaît, broken toilets.  Later in the summer they show Cinéma en Plein Air.  I will definitely be back.  Hopefully the toilets will be fixed by then.

Bastille MarchéSince my last post about this market was a little sad in the photography department, I’m giving you another glimpse here.  The photos of the bread cost me one baguette and the vendor made me take a picture with him.  I suppose it was a fair price to pay seeing as I ate half the loaf before I even made it home.

To round off the already perfect week, my friend, Claudia, and I walked around Le Marais and stopped to eat at Le Voltigeur, my new favorite place for quiche.

© Sarah Milstein 2013

Leave a Reply

